Basic Explanation of Canon 1

The worldwide Catholic Church consists of 23 separate churches in union with the Successor of Peter. One, the Wester or Latin Church, follows this Code. The remaining twenty-two are the Eastern Catholic Churches, which have a separate Code of Canon Law, The Code of Canons of the Oriental Churches.